The coffee pot hit the floor and shattered

Have you ever done something that you knew you shouldn’t do? Do you ever get that gut feeling on the inside that says . . . “you really don’t want to do that.” I was washing the coffee pot the other evening and I put it on top of a pan to dry. It wasnt the most stable place to put the coffee pot, but it stayed. Well, when I put it there, I felt on the inside like I needed to put it somewhere else, but I didn’t. I came back later that evening and disturbed the pan underneath and the coffee pot fell and hit the floor and shattered.

Ok, let’s look at this because I’m sure someone is saying was that God telling you not to put that coffee pot on top of that pan, or was that the devil? How would you know.  It was God, and you can know by a couple of ways. The first is that it came as an inward witness that confirmed something I knew. I knew if I put the coffee pot on top of the pan that it was at increased risk of falling. The second is that God will speak to your spirit and that’s on the inside of you. I Kings 19:11-12 show us that God speaks in a still small voice. God is a Spirit so He will speak to your Spirit, not your mind nor your body. We have to renew our mind and speak to our body. So many times we look for natural evidence that God is going to do something. We have to see a change in our physical condition to believe that we are healed. We have to see the money in the bank to believe that the provision exists. The WORD of God is just the opposite. You have to believe it exists and then you will see it! That’s what faith is and 2 Corinthians 5:7 teaches that we walk by faith and not by what we see. The devil will send thoughts to your mind and play off of what you see and feel. He appeals to the senses. God speaks to your spirit. The bible says that He bears witness with our spirit that we are the sons of God. If He can bear witness with you concerning that, He can bear witness with you concerning other things . . . say a coffee pot and where it should be placed so it won’t fall.

So, how do you know that it was God and not the devil. Let’s look at purpose. We have talked about this scripture in the past, John 10:10 that teaches the devil comes to steal, kill and destroy. His plan for me was to destroy my coffee pot so that I won’t enjoy my after dinner cup of coffee. It was meant to frustrate me and upset me, not to mention cause me to have to sweep up the glass and go to the store and find a new coffee pot. You know it’s dangerous cleaning up the glass because of the potential to cut your finger. The Spirit encouraged me to put the coffee pot in a more stable place, but I ignored God and put it somewhere I shouldnt have.  Are you missing the voice of God?  We can help. Email your concern to sow-the-word@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

