Sowing and Reaping, Part 3, You may be sowing and not even know it

So, I had to go to the gas station to get gas. The card reader at the pump was not working so I had to go inside the store. When I walked inside and got up to the counter the cashier was talking on her cell phone and looked at me as is I was interrupting her conversation. She waited on me with a careless attitude and seemed happy to see me exit the store. I’m not really sure if she hung up the phone. I figured I would share this as this is an example of sowing and reaping that we have been discussing in recent posts.  Colossians 3:23 teaches us to work as if we are working for the Lord. Here we have a cashier who was on the phone while she was on somebody elses time and who, based on her demeanor, had no interest in serving me. She may not know it, but she was sowing. She sowed to the flesh, as her personal conversation was more important than the customer(me) that she was being PAID to serve.  No doubt that she will reap what she sowed. She will be a customer at some point, and the sowing that she did in my situation she will reap in her dealings as a customer. It’s funny how folk get upset about how they are treated as customers but fail to remember how they treated someone who was their customer.  By simply showing up to work on time, with a smile, working willingly, treating customers(others) with respect and being patient with them, putting their needs ahead of your personal desires, you are sowing to the Spirit, because you are doing things that line up with the Word of God.  Philippians 2:3 teaches us to esteem others higher that we do ourselves. Her actions in that store that day were in direct opposition of this verse. Clearly her phone conversation was more important than my need to pay for the gas I needed. The sad thing about it is that she may not even know. Nobody may have shared Jesus with her and taught her about sowing and reaping. You will reap what you sow.  You are sowing in your day to day interactions and you may not even know it.

Leave a Reply

